Parks in Diemen and Amsterdam Southeast

Hello Wayfarers!

I will talk about green, As I promised in my first blog post. I chose to zoom in more. I will not fangirl about beautiful parks such as The Vondelpark, frankendaelpark, amstelparks etc.

But I will take you 30-45 min away from there to ‘quieter’ places such as Diemerbos in Diemen and Gaasperplas in Amsterdam Southeast. But before that a small and boring lesson.

What is Amsterdam Southeast?

Too lazy and not smart enough to answer, so I just asked my friend Google.

  • What wikipedia has to say about amsterdam Southeast.

Amsterdam-Zuidoost (“Amsterdam-Southeast”)borough (stadsdeel) ofAmsterdam, Netherlands. It consists of four residential neighborhoods- Bijlmermeer,Venserpolder, Gaasperdam and Driemond—as well as the Amstel III/Bullewijk Business Park and Bijlmer Arena entertainment and shopping district. 


Geographically, Amsterdam-Zuidoost is anexclave of Amsterdam as it does not border any of the other boroughs. As of 2013, Amsterdam-Zuidoost had almost 84,000 inhabitants.

Clear?

Probably not…

  1. Well, okay, but what is Diemen then?

Diemen pronounce as Demon is a…uhm…eh…well a… Where are you google.

  • What Wikipedia shares about Diemen.

Diemen (Dutch pronunciation: [ˈdimə(n)]) is a town and municipality with a population of 26,148 in the Netherlands. It is located in the south of the province North Holland, southeast of Amsterdam, and within theAmsterdam Metropolitan Area.

Diemen the town is located in the province North Holland, in the west of the Netherlands. The town is part of the urban area of Amsterdam and is situated between Amsterdam-Oost(IJburg, Watergraafsmeer), Ouder-Amstel(Duivendrecht), Amsterdam-Zuidoost(Bijlmer, Driemond), and Muiden.

  • So Diemen is basically in the middle of some Amsterdam boroughs,but not a part them?

Yes, yes it is.

Now you know what, what is so I can  get to my point and I will start with the first park.

Het Diemerbos


Diemerbos is from the three parks the most relaxing. The chilling birds sound. The crispy sounds the leaves on the trees make when the wind rushes through the trees and my favourite sound the clattering sounds of water. Yes, I am talking about an artificial mini waterfall.

  • This place is beyond enchanting, it’s one minute away from civilization, but the moment you are there. You hear nothing, a soothing and a complete silence.
This path leads to a place where there is no worries
Meet Henk, the wise tree strunk
A primitive seat in the middle of my peace point 

 

I recommend this park for young and old, who’d love to take a quiet and peaceful stroll with their dogs or horses?

I also recommend if you love to take pictures of beautiful places and unusual things such as Henk the wise tree strunk.

It also a stonethrow away from the Bijlmerweide another beautiful place, but I will talk about that another blog post.

 

 De Gaasperplas

De Gaasperplas is a huge lake situated between Reigersbos, Gaasperplas and Gein. You can take strolls throughout the entire year and It will keep on being beautiful.


I actually recommend this park to everyone accept if you hate nature and concrete is your best friend. There is something for everybody. 

An expedition place thingie, a nude beach, a swan lake(nothing for me I have the biggest fear for birds), the most amazing nature sites, a indoor playpark for kids up to 12, a waterplay thingie, a sailboat haven(I am not sure, but I think that you can rent sailboats) and a swimming and fishing area. 

Nelson Mandelapark

Formerly known as het Bijlmerpark, after the tragic death of Nelson Mandela (on our beloved Sinterklaas feast) honorably renamed after him.  This freshly renovated park is beyond beautiful and exceptionally perfect for youngsters and active people.


This park is recommended for everybody, especially sporty people. As there are many options such as a skatethingie, a playgarden, footballfields and a club, every 100 metres there is a sign(perfect for joggers) those gym equipment thingies and a atheletic club

Well wayfarers we reached the end, please let me know what you think, like and share it as that would be Amazing.

I see you another blog post.

Byeeees

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Asia says:

    Wow, these all look so serene & beautiful! Definitely a place I would love to visit 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jusztravel says:

    I think my favourite is Nelson Mandelapark. That pathway looks like a good place for a run! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes and the great thing about it, it is in the middle of a lake so you’re surrounded with water and waterplants!

      Like

  3. Lisa says:

    love the tree stunk 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. If you wish for to grow your familiarity simply keep visiting this
    web page and be updated with the latest gossip posted here. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U8mMmXObJbo

    Like

  5. Hiya, I’m really glad I’ve found this info. Nowadays bloggers publish only about gossips and internet and this is really irritating.

    A good blog with interesting content, that’s what I need.

    Thanks for keeping this website, I will be visiting it.
    Do you do newsletters? Cant find it. http://parket.rv.ua/?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&task=user&id=17119

    Like

  6. When I read your blogs I find places that you visit and I visit to be such a vast difference between Asia and Europe, even though I have lived a long time in my life abroad in Canada. Some how I find Asia, like Thailand very exotic even though I am from Malaysia and am not Thai.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The great thing about the places you visit is that those places, weren’t always created like that, nature there is beautiful and real

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That is very true and am slowly discovering more of it. There is even a dino fossil park up north that I am planning to go check it out, seems it is quite awesome with most of the fossils left intact where they were found! The even have a Thai T-rex and I never knew dinos were found so far near the equator in Asia!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

