Museum day #2: Day in the Rijksmuseum

The day before yesterday I decided to go to the Rijksmuseum, my 5th favourite museum in Amsterdam!

Het Rijksmuseum is the big building behind the I Amsterdam sign and the tourist mass. 
If you survive the heat, the unnecessary flashes of their cameras, the huge crowds and the hungry pigeons, you will be rewarded with the sight of one of the most beautiful buildings of Amsterdam. 

After squeezing yourself through tourists, your finally inside now there is only one more thing to do. Enjoy the art. 

Which is super conveniently ordered in time, I directly went to my favourite time. When the Netherlands were called the republic. 

The sad thing was, that I felt that tourists weren’t watching the art. They were just photographing it, they weren’t enjoying it as much as I and some others did. 

Plus they were annoying, I am going to be super honest. Wouldn’t you be super annoyed if this happened to you:

You’re enjoying: De zielenvisserij. You’re not even standing in front of it, but some tourist felt the need to interrupt me out of my daydreAm. Just to ask if he could take a picture in my place!

I looked around and yes, he could stand everywhere else, but he had to disturb me. Let me show you the zielenvisserij. You’ll understand me then.

Do you see how amazing it is!

Well. whenever I go to the Rijks, I have to.see the dollhouses, I love them. I first had to squeeze myself again, but then you see the beautiful dollhouses. 

The day went on seeing the Nachtwacht, well the upper half of it!

And wondering why people made pictures of things such as the floor, the door handle etc.

Maybe they see something more beautiful in that than in the ultra realistic paintings of the golden century. 

After an hour of wandering, squeezing and wondering, I ended my day buying a drink in the museum store in sit at the.terrace. 

Just Kidding, 

I went to the nearest Albert Heijn, bought a refreshing beverage and a salade and sat in the grass. 

Also I made no pictures in the Rijksmuseum as I rarely do that taking pictures in Museums, but I found some neat ones on the Internet. 

Courtesy of: http://www.wyndham-amsterdam.com/nl/bezienswaardigheden/rijksmuseum
Courtesy of: http://www.rijksmuseum.nl
Courtesy of: http://www.historiek.net

Well it was a fun day, and. I HOPE TO SEE YOU IN ANOTHER POST!

Share comment, like!

I wish you an awesome.and.wayfaring day!

An outcast of an wayfarer 

Xo

32 Comments Add yours

  1. I loved the Rijksmuseum and spent hours wandering around. I must go back, thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  2. JPE says:

    Beautiful, and what a nice art!

    Like

      1. JPE says:

        I would love to see them too 🙂

        Like

  3. I am a museum freak and this post was great! Amsterdam seems so beautiful. I’ve never been, but have always wanted to make a trip. I actually only made a pitstop there on my way to India a few years back. Keep up the good work! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!
      I AM ALSO A MUSEUM NITWIT!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Justine Sara Leonhardt says:

    That picture is amazing, Outcast. I didn’t get to Rijksmuseum when I was in Amsterdam, but you’ve convinced me for next time. ; ) Thank you for the blog ‘like’.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

