3 other amazing places that aren’t called Amsterdam

Heeey Wayfarers,

You guys must be surprised that I am blogging so much lately, I am too really surprised that I found a cure for my laziness.

I just feel like blogging more, because I realized that it feels so satisfying to press that publish button, every single word and every single picture, paragraph, thumbnail what have you gives me a feeling of relieve, satisfaction and PURE JOY.

Well, I decided to make part two of one my favourite blogs, about different places scattered across the Netherlands that are also worth visiting. Do feel free to check that one out! You can find it as 3 Amazing dutch places that aren’t called Amsterdam. just click the link and read it! I don’t want to come of as prideful or cocky, but I enjoyed reading that one back. I don’t think that it’s a cocky thing to say, I’m just happy with it.

Well, I’m talking too much, it’s time to start getting to the purpose of this blog, without further ado let’s get right into the blog!

*1. Volendam

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor volendam

The first place I chose is about 30 minutes away from Amsterdam and is called Volendam, Volendam is a small village. The probably most popular fishing village is well-known for its old fishing boats, characteristic authentic architecture, eels and traditional clothing that is still worn by some of the inhabitants of the village.

There’s no need to rant about the existence of the provinces other than North- and South Holland, since Volendam is situated in North Holland. So you can actually say I’m in Holland when you ever find yourself in Volendam. Yes, I’m talking about the people who consider Holland as an equivalent of The Netherlands.

Are you in or planning to visit Amsterdam and do you want to make a day trip away from all the business from the city. Take a bus from Nieuwmarkt or Central Station and you’ll be there in 30 minutes. Or do you feel adventurous, take a bike route!

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor volendam op de kaart

*.2 Naarden

The second place in this short list is a small fortified town in the Southeastern part of the Netherlands called Naarden. Known for its complete gorgeousness. Also if you look up ‘Naarden’ in google, you’ll mostly see this kind of picture:

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor naarden

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor naarden op de kaart nederlaND

Isn’t this a cool place?, with all the arrows and the whole star thingie, I mean it’s famous for its unique star shape. The water and tranquility and stuff. Gosh, the award for eloquency goes to me! Let’s be honest though isn’t this a beautiful place? let’s take a closer look!

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor naarden centrum

YES, this is beautiful as well, not as impressive as the unique star shapes with the Arrows and stuff. There are quite some things to do in Naarden, despite the size of the town. You could go to museums, forts, hike, cycle, go on a boat ride etc.

I honestly think that you should go to Naarden and check for yourself, I mean it isn’t far away from Amsterdam, I think that my sister cycled to it with her school once and she said something about tunnels and tunnels are cool right?

Also Naarden in the winter …

 

*.3 Bronkhorst

Well we’ve finally arrived on the last place of this list and that is Bronkhorst, which is a small village upon the Ijssel and situated in a province named Gelderland. I don’t really know what’s known for, but it’s  without a doubt a hidden gem that needs to be explored. This small village which is technically a city has less than 190 inhabitants, which makes it the smallest city of the Netherlands.

Update: after doing more research I’ve learned that there are smaller cities in the Netherlands and if you wonder why they’re called cities that is because a city is considered a city if it has city rights, priviliges given to cities. so Technically these small cities, way smaller than certain villages are actually  cities. It sounded more logical in my head.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor bronckhorst stad

With cobblestone paths and beautiful authentic houses this city is definetly worth visiting, it’s bit farther away from Amsterdam than the other cities, but maybe once in your life when you are planning to travel around in the Netherlands.

Afbeeldingsresultaat voor bronkhorst  de kaart

Well you made it to end or you scrolled right away to the end, I’m either way grateful that you’ve visited my blog and read this article. That I really enjoyed writing, well this is the end and I hope that you’ve enjoyed it as much as I’ve enjoyed writing it!

I hope that you comment, which city you like the most!, vote and share and follow my blog! and I wish you a wonderful wonderlust filled life!!

An Outcast Wayfarer!

 

9 Comments Add yours

  1. I was in Amsterdam recently but it was so bleak that we did not make it to these lovely places. Now, that I have other names than Volendam and Delft, I shall keep it in my to-do list.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Marge Gavan says:

    I totally understand what you mean. Whenever I publish a post, it feels like an accomplishment. Writing is hard, especially when you don’t have the inspiration, so whenever I get to publish an article I feel like a winner hahaha…

    Wow Naarden looks surreal! I wonder how managed to design it that way, it’s fanstastic.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Elisa says:

    I have only been to Volendam (apart from Amsterdam of course) In the end I enjoyed Amsterdam’s surroundings by bike more than Amsterdam itself maybe because it was cheaper (so I could afford some treats) and less touristy. Hope this blog will encourage people to go off the beaten path

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jerny says:

    Naarden from above is the best. I’ve never seen a city like that. Good thing your blog is here. We are planning to roam around by bike as we could get access to even the alleys and as you said, tunnels 😀

    Like

  5. Neha Verma says:

    Wonderful finds. Your title caught my attention immediately. And the post is wonderful…I would love to visit these places

    Like

  6. Thanks for steering our vision beyond Amsterdam. This happens all the time, hype of one place overshadows so many other lovely places and they stay in the shadows. But sometimes this may be for the good of the places too. Lovely places and so charming.

    Like

  7. afarawayhome says:

    Well there we go, time to go back to the Netherlands! There are so many lovely little places to visit, it breaks my heart every time another one of my friends goes to Amsterdam…

    Like

  8. It’s very true how so many smaller and probably as beautiful places get ignored by travelers shadowed by centers which’ve become big names. Will definitely check out these smaller destinations when we’re there next

    Like

  9. A Hearty Nomad says:

    I travel very often by local recommendations its always good. Insiders are great.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

